Podcast 33: Seven Phases of Grieving


We all go through grief and mourning at some point in our lives. Millions of us lost loved ones due to the Covid-19 pandemic within the past year and experienced grief and mourning. There is no wrong way to grief because everyone grieves differently and it’s ok to seek help. 

In this episode, I share the losses that I experienced this past year, so that we can all openly discuss difficult life events and help one another in the healing process. We all experience our emotions in different ways, so there is no such thing as being too strong or too soft. However, when we experience loss and mourning there are stages that many of us go through. Hopefully, understanding the 7 Stages of Grief will bring you some comfort. These periods explain the complicated feelings that we experience. Wherever you are, know that it is part of the healing process. You will come out standing, laughing, and happy because you are resilient!

What’s in this episode?

0:00 What’s in this episode

0:58 Grief and mourning 

1:39 How the Covid-19 pandemic affected Risa

2:04 What does feelings of grief mean

2:39 Major events in our lives

3:19 7 Stages of grief

3:46 Shock and denial

4:24 Pain and guilt

4:55 Anger and bargaining

5:27 Depression

6:07 The upward turn

6:32 Reconstruction

7:00 Acceptance and hope

7:50 Risa’s experience 

What you will learn:

  • How Covid-19 affected Risa personally
  • An overview of the 7 Stages of Grief
  • Stage 1 of Grief: Shock and Denial
  • Stage 2 of Grief: Pain and Guilt
  • Stage 3 of Grief: Anger and Bargaining
  • Stage 4 of Grief: Depression
  • Stage 5 of Grief: The Upward Turn
  • Stage 6 of Grief: Reconstruction
  • Stage 7 of Grief: Acceptance and Hope


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *